Qualifying for Euro 2020

min read
A- A+

Euro 2020 will be played in 12 countries with no automatic qualification for host countries.  All 55 UEFA nations will complete for the 24 spots in the Euro Cup tournament.  20 places will be decided by the qualifying group stage with the top two of each group advancing.  The remaining 4 spots will be determined in the new play-off system linked to the UEFA Nations League.

The qualifying draw took place in Dublin on 2 December 2018. The 55 teams were split into ten groups of either five or six, with four of the five groups of five containing one team that had qualified for the UEFA Nations League finals (to be held in June 2019). The top two from each group qualify for the EURO final tournament.

UEFA EURO 2020 qualifying groups
Group A: England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Kosovo
Group B: Portugal, Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania, Luxembourg
Group C: Netherlands, Germany, Northern Ireland, Estonia, Belarus
Group D: Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibraltar
Group E: Croatia, Wales, Slovakia, Hungary, Azerbaijan
Group F: Spain, Sweden, Norway, Romania, Faroe Islands, Malta
Group G: Poland, Austria, Israel, Slovenia, FYR Macedonia, Latvia
Group H: France, Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova, Andorra
Group I: Belgium, Russia, Scotland, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, San Marino

UEFA Nations League Play-Off System

Each separate League (i.e. A, B, C and D) in the UEFA Nations League has been allocated one UEFA EURO 2020 place. Four sides from each League will contest single-leg semi-finals and a one-off final (entirely specific to the EURO) in March 2020. The winner of each of these four one-off finals gets a ticket to UEFA EURO 2020.


Parent event