Since the 2007 season, the National Football League (NFL) has hosted regular season American football games outside of the United States every year in a series known as the NFL International Series.

Initially, all of the games in the International Series were held in London, England. Wembley Stadium was the exclusive home stadium for International Series games from 2007 to 2015 and will continue to host NFL games through at least 2020; beginning in 2016, the series began expanding to more stadia, first to Twickenham Stadium, London (2016–18) and to Estadio Azteca, Mexico City, Mexico (2016–) and will eventually expand to the still under construction new stadium at Northumberland Park also in London (2018–27).

Between 2018 and 2027, at least two games each year will be played at Tottenham Hotspur's new stadium in Northumberland Park as part of an agreement between the NFL and Tottenham Hotspur. On October 7, 2015, the league announced that a resolution had been passed to schedule international games at additional locations to London until 2025. On October 22, 2015 it was confirmed that at least two games per year will remain at Wembley until through least 2020 and that the Jacksonville Jaguars will continue to play a home game there annually throughout the agreement. Subsequent to this, on November 3, 2015, the NFL announced that it had reached an agreement with England's Rugby Football Union to host regular season games at Twickenham Stadium from 2016 onwards, with a minimum of three, and as many as five games to be held over the initial agreement period of three years.