So far, 23 nations have booked their place to join host nation Russia in next year's tournament.  Qualified nations: Russia (hosts), Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Honduras, Iceland, Iran, Japan, Mexico, Nigeria, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, South Korea, Spain, Uruguay.

Inter-confederation Playoffs (2 spots remaining)
The fourth-placed team from North, Central America and Caribbean qualifying will play the winners of the Asian qualifying play-off for one spot at the World Cup. Honduras finished fourth and Australia saw off Syria in the Asian play-off, with the two teams now due to face each other over two legs on November 6 and 14. The other inter-confederation play-off sees the winner of the Oceania qualifying play-off face the fifth-place team from South America. New Zealand thrashed Solomon Islands in the Oceania play-off, which means they face Peru over two legs on November 6 and 14.



Qualified: Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama
Playoffs: Honduras will play a home and home series with Australia.
Eliminated: United States, Canada, El Salvador, Trinidad & Tobago, Haiti, Jamaica

UEFA (4 spots remaining)
Qualified: Belgium, Germany, England, Spain, Poland, Iceland, Serbia, Portugal, and France
Playoffs: Switzerland, Italy, Denmark, Croatia, Sweden, Greece, Northern Ireland, and Republic of Ireland remain able to qualify for the World Cup through playoff ties to be played between November 9 and 14. The draw for those matches will be held on October 17.
Eliminated: Czech Republic, Norway, Israel, Hungary, Finland, Kosovo, Austria, Turkey, Ukraine, Netherlands

AFC (Asia)
Qualified: Iran, South Korea, Japan, Saudi Arabia
In Contention: Australia will face Honduras in a home and home series.
Recently Eliminated: Uzbekistan, China, United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Thailand, Qatar, Syria

CAF (Africa) (3 spots remaining)
Qualified: Nigeria, Egypt
In Contention: Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tunisia, Ivory Coast, Morocco, Burkina Faso, South Africa, Senegal, Cape Verde
Africa is the only FIFA confederation yet to finish the group stage of its qualification process. Nigeria and Egypt are the two African nations already guaranteed a World Cup place, but three more spots are up for grabs and there are eight nations still in the hunt. Those remaining group stage matches will take place between November 10 and 14. African teams do not take part in any play-offs, so all will be decided by the final group placings. Still alive – Tunisia, DR Congo, Morocco, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Burkina, Cape Verde,
Recently Eliminated: Cameroon, Algeria, Guinea, Libya, Congo, Zambia, Uganda, Ghana

CONMEBOL (South America)
Qualified: Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Colombia
In Contention: Peru will play a home and home series with New Zealand.
Eliminated: Chile, Bolivia, Venezuela, Ecuador, Paraguay

OFC (Oceania)
Qualified: None
In Contention: New Zealand will play a home and home series with Peru.
Recently Eliminated: Solomon Islands, Fiji, New Caledonia, Tahiti, Papua New Guinea